IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Assault Map - Fixed, get the new version here
JakeParlay
post Apr 25 2010, 03:00 AM
Post #1


Captain
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 18-August 06
From: Connecticut
Member No.: 5,061



As many of you know, the new Assault map for 2.0 has been causing some server crashes, specifically when the British successfully defend the fort until time expires. HP and I scrambled today to come up with a fix, and are very pleased to report that we solved it.

You can grab the updated version here:

http://mirror.bgmod.com/bg2/bg_assault_r2.bsp (23.5 Mb)

The file should be placed in your BG2/maps/ directory. For anyone curious, the bug was related to the logic and entity system that controls the timing of the map. I also used this opportunity to reduce the flag capture time for the Command Post Roof area, from 12 to 6 seconds.

If anyone has any Assault map feedback or findings, feel free to report them here or use the other feedback threads/areas on this site. Good luck and happy hunting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gRanTeLbArT
post Apr 25 2010, 02:19 PM
Post #2


aaaaaa | TRR scream team
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 5,281
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 3,115



Please provide feedback on assault_r2 and install it on your servers. So far, 501st have put it on their server.


--------------------
The Elders have foreseen victory this day!
Member of the TRR scream team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zauberfisch
post Apr 25 2010, 02:44 PM
Post #3


Private
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 8-April 10
Member No.: 14,027



we (501st) played it 1 time so far, and it worked (:

btw, very nice map, good work!


UPDATE:
we playd the map a few more times, and it worked fine, exept 1 time:

after a LB on lb_battleofvalcourisland (i think the server was full => 32players) i changed to this map, a few seconds after the first one has selected his team, every one got a "lost connection" mesage like when you have a internet disconect
i only found a log file of sourcemod, but there is nothing about the crash in it, is there another log somewhere? if yes, where can i find it?
then the siver didn't show up in the server list, but the "admin site of the privder" sayd the server is running.

hmm ... i think thats all, sry that i can't give you more infos/details, but if i finde a error log, i gonna update this post again



and a player found a bug:
QUOTE
there is a hill right next to the american spawn...
u have to climb it for like 2 min
then u get to the top
then u go down to the left

i don't know if this is true, but this guy was under the map, and he was not visible for the other players, but was able to shoot/stab them.

This post has been edited by Zauberfisch: Apr 26 2010, 12:19 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gRanTeLbArT
post Apr 29 2010, 04:51 PM
Post #4


aaaaaa | TRR scream team
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 5,281
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 3,115



I can't really agree. I have crashed on assault_r2 twice. PLEASE more people report your experiences.


--------------------
The Elders have foreseen victory this day!
Member of the TRR scream team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JakeParlay
post Apr 29 2010, 05:01 PM
Post #5


Captain
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 18-August 06
From: Connecticut
Member No.: 5,061



agreed - I've seen it crash once, and I've seen british hold out (without a crash) three times. So while it's gotten better, it's still not perfect.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Plexi
post Apr 29 2010, 06:14 PM
Post #6


angry aow player
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 694
Joined: 1-December 05
From: jške
Member No.: 4,252



Assault_r2 crashed twice out of 2 attempts on TRR server after there was message "british have held....".


--------------------
-[TRR]- Pte. Plexi: http://plexi.wippiespace.com/kuvia/Pikkis.jpg
-[TRR]- Cpt. MPC [Campers] ~NTW: epic :P
-[TRR]- Cpt. MPC [Campers] ~NTW: Im using it for my
-[TRR]- Cpt. MPC [Campers] ~NTW: desktop
-[TRR]- Cpt. MPC [Campers] ~NTW: background
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TIEdup14
post Jul 1 2010, 02:36 PM
Post #7


The Heroic Elite Clan Founder/Leader
***

Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 5-November 02
Member No.: 289



Just wanted to bump this for continuity... a couple of my clan members had problems with the "this map differs from server version" issue on SS server the other night when we were scrimming. Be sure to double check and make sure you have the right version on your server!


--------------------
"Halten den glauben an den Endsieg"

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Quite Churlishly
post Jul 1 2010, 07:27 PM
Post #8


Towne Crier
******

Group: Members
Posts: 447
Joined: 7-January 07
From: USA
Member No.: 5,548



If they put bg_assault_r2 on their server and didn't rename it bg_assault then there shouldn't be an issue. I've noticed that there are a few maps on the SS server which gave my past teams problems like this in the past (Freakin' townguard did it)

Also: Since we're back to discussing this map it also will crash on the |AP| server after a British defense.

This post has been edited by Quite Churlishly: Jul 1 2010, 07:28 PM


--------------------
Openly admitting to being a "troll" and I hate children. Just saying!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gRanTeLbArT
post Jul 1 2010, 08:39 PM
Post #9


aaaaaa | TRR scream team
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 5,281
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 3,115



It does crash most of the time. I suppose we will have to look at it some more


--------------------
The Elders have foreseen victory this day!
Member of the TRR scream team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 08:42 AM