IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Crouching Player Bbox Too Small
Skillet5151
post Feb 4 2007, 04:07 PM
Post #1


Lieutennant
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 26-August 03
Member No.: 1,791



Hits will never be registered outside the outer box.
IPB Image

IPB Image

Edit: You can test it yourself by starting a listen server, turning on developer mode ("developer 1"), adding some bots ("bot_add") and displaying the bounding boxes ("ent_bbox player"). You may want to use "bot_mimic 1" so that you have better control over the bots. They will then follow your movements.

This post has been edited by Skillet5151: Feb 4 2007, 04:19 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jackx
post Feb 4 2007, 04:53 PM
Post #2


midnight devcult phenomena
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 2,260
Joined: 14-May 03
Member No.: 1,223



Well, it wouldn't be bg if it didn't come with a crouching hitbox bug... :x


--------------------
no truth - no justice
all false belief
blinded by morality
there shall be... no peace
no peace!

-------



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forlorn_Hope
post Feb 4 2007, 05:39 PM
Post #3


Cat Herder in Chief
Group Icon

Group: BG Dev. Team
Posts: 1,712
Joined: 29-October 03
From: The land of plain speaking
Member No.: 2,023



That explains it then. We'll try to figure stuff out.


--------------------
"There will be no more naked sunbathing." An actual rule for the base I was on, in the middle of Afghanistan.

"Forlorn basically said everything right." Codename:V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tjoppen
post Feb 4 2007, 09:39 PM
Post #4


Major
Group Icon

Group: Team Leader
Posts: 994
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 1,207



Increasing crouch hull from 36 to 45 units height fixes it, at least for stationary targets. Perhaps a bit more to account for crouch walking. Have to be careful though, or tell mappers not to make areas that require crouching.
I've merely used the default HL2DM bbox and the animations are HL2DM aswell. I foolishly assumed they'd match up.

Seems it uses the bbox to perform coarse traceline pruning (or?). I though it was only used for physics, but appearently they're still stuck in Quake behaviour :/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skillet5151
post Feb 5 2007, 01:23 AM
Post #5


Lieutennant
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 135
Joined: 26-August 03
Member No.: 1,791



Traceline pruning is one use. The physics and tracing boxes are actually set separately but use the same values by default.

According to some of my old comments, the tracing/hit detection box is set in CBasePlayer::PostThink() with SetCollisionBounds().
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ben
post Feb 6 2007, 03:25 PM
Post #6


Render's Big Man
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 132
Joined: 8-July 02
Member No.: 2



If you ever manage to fix this, see if it can be back-ported to hl1 as I tried for months on a related problem there (raising the bbox'es for that wasn't enough, some headshots while crouched still didn't register iirc)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forlorn_Hope
post Feb 9 2007, 05:43 PM
Post #7


Cat Herder in Chief
Group Icon

Group: BG Dev. Team
Posts: 1,712
Joined: 29-October 03
From: The land of plain speaking
Member No.: 2,023



Since this thread seems the best place to put this... If people could put cl_interp 0 in their console, and tell me if melee seems any better with it, I'd be much obliged. It SEEMED better for me, but I wanna get a more general consensus.


--------------------
"There will be no more naked sunbathing." An actual rule for the base I was on, in the middle of Afghanistan.

"Forlorn basically said everything right." Codename:V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JakeParlay
post Feb 9 2007, 06:39 PM
Post #8


Captain
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 388
Joined: 18-August 06
From: Connecticut
Member No.: 5,061



QUOTE(Forlorn_Hope @ Feb 9 2007, 12:43 PM) [snapback]27979[/snapback]

Since this thread seems the best place to put this... If people could put cl_interp 0 in their console, and tell me if melee seems any better with it, I'd be much obliged. It SEEMED better for me, but I wanna get a more general consensus.


just had a run through on tronts with cl_interp 0 and it felt a lot better, noticeably so
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tomdon
post Feb 10 2007, 11:33 AM
Post #9


:(
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 1,150
Joined: 29-July 05
Member No.: 3,649



I shall try that out later as well. Got to reinstall steam first, I have upgraded to vista :).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nathan Hale
post Feb 10 2007, 07:02 PM
Post #10


Original BG First Release Player
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 2,778
Joined: 24-September 02
From: The 13 Colonies
Member No.: 124



It helps!

If I had to guess I'd say what's happening is that the hit boxes are actually ending up forward of the display model on the screen. This would explain why you have to lead the target a TON unless you do interp=0. It would also explain the weirdness of swinging at someone's back point blank and missing all the time. With this change it seems much more meshed with the model and acts more normally. Cl_interp should be made default at 0, at least for the time being.


Well this is my own guess at least, based on playing experience thus far.

This post has been edited by Nathan Hale: Feb 10 2007, 07:03 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ztormi
post Feb 11 2007, 12:07 PM
Post #11


Sergeant Major
****

Group: Members
Posts: 97
Joined: 29-October 06
From: Finland
Member No.: 5,337



QUOTE(Nathan Hale @ Feb 10 2007, 09:02 PM) [snapback]28010[/snapback]

It helps!

If I had to guess I'd say what's happening is that the hit boxes are actually ending up forward of the display model on the screen. This would explain why you have to lead the target a TON unless you do interp=0. It would also explain the weirdness of swinging at someone's back point blank and missing all the time. With this change it seems much more meshed with the model and acts more normally. Cl_interp should be made default at 0, at least for the time being.


Well this is my own guess at least, based on playing experience thus far.

Well I tested it but I think it's not a huge improvement in melee. But it may give a little assistance for meleeing.
Back for further testing...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th July 2019 - 12:58 PM