IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Quickscope Bug
irish_thomas
post Jun 21 2011, 08:27 PM
Post #1


why?
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 3-September 10
From: Ireland
Member No.: 14,246



when u bring up ur ironsights and quickscope and fire it creates a spark but no bullet effect is created like it doesnt hit anything and it still says that the weapon is loaded.


--------------------
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i like 69th
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i just dont like port,irish and metal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
James Asner
post Jun 21 2011, 09:22 PM
Post #2


Captain
******

Group: Members
Posts: 347
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 14,047



http://forums.bgmod.com//index.php?showtopic=6074


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ad-Man
post Jun 22 2011, 09:55 AM
Post #3


Part of the Big Five conspiracy
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 828
Joined: 23-October 04
Member No.: 3,147



Was this in the SVN or 2.0?

I'm sure this was caused by a hotfix for SP1/SP2. To stop scripts automatically bringing up iron sights and shooting in a split second and taking them off again. It has been fixed properly for the next release.


--------------------
Do you cant read me ? Not read ..
Not like whot i write ? not read too ...
Where is the problem ?


QUOTE (Copywright (wallhacker/bad modeler))
BGu had a chance of coming back but Roob failed sad really
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forlorn_Hope
post Jun 22 2011, 11:18 AM
Post #4


Cat Herder in Chief
Group Icon

Group: BG Dev. Team
Posts: 1,712
Joined: 29-October 03
From: The land of plain speaking
Member No.: 2,023



The idea was to remove quick scoping as an exploit. Apparently, if people used that exploit, it would give their firearms pin-point accuracy, which is against the intention of the game. Ideally, the weapon wouldn't show a firing animation either if people are attempting to quick scope, but squashing the exploit is more important than leaving it be.


--------------------
"There will be no more naked sunbathing." An actual rule for the base I was on, in the middle of Afghanistan.

"Forlorn basically said everything right." Codename:V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gRanTeLbArT
post Jun 22 2011, 11:39 AM
Post #5


aaaaaa | TRR scream team
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 5,281
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 3,115



Basically the client still thinks it fires, but the server stops the quickscoping as of SP1 or SP2. That is probably why the smoke is created by the client, although it was not allowed to fire.


--------------------
The Elders have foreseen victory this day!
Member of the TRR scream team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ad-Man
post Jun 22 2011, 11:41 AM
Post #6


Part of the Big Five conspiracy
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 828
Joined: 23-October 04
Member No.: 3,147



It just gave you the same accuracy as iron sights, but you could bind mouse1 to bring up iron sights, shoot, remove iron sights, which meant you didnt have to line up in ironsights, just point your normal crosshair at and use that bind.

That misinterpretation is pretty common for some reason.


--------------------
Do you cant read me ? Not read ..
Not like whot i write ? not read too ...
Where is the problem ?


QUOTE (Copywright (wallhacker/bad modeler))
BGu had a chance of coming back but Roob failed sad really
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
irish_thomas
post Jun 22 2011, 12:21 PM
Post #7


why?
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 3-September 10
From: Ireland
Member No.: 14,246



@ Ad- man It's svn,but what I'm saying is when you do the quickscope the smoke and spark comes out of the barrel but the actual bullet hasn't fired cause I can still fire another shot without reloading.

@ Grantel so it's just the client,but it would cause confusion so ye removing it before 2.1 release.

Hate the removal of quickscope now I need to find a diff way to aim lol

This post has been edited by irish_thomas: Jun 22 2011, 12:25 PM


--------------------
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i like 69th
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i just dont like port,irish and metal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forlorn_Hope
post Jun 22 2011, 03:04 PM
Post #8


Cat Herder in Chief
Group Icon

Group: BG Dev. Team
Posts: 1,712
Joined: 29-October 03
From: The land of plain speaking
Member No.: 2,023



You could... try actually aiming with the iron sights, as the game is designed...?


--------------------
"There will be no more naked sunbathing." An actual rule for the base I was on, in the middle of Afghanistan.

"Forlorn basically said everything right." Codename:V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sejd
post Jun 22 2011, 03:43 PM
Post #9


Corporal
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 13-September 10
Member No.: 14,258



The fix for the quick scope bug isn't really effective as of the svn, the cause is probably because of lag between the client and the server, the bug itself shows as: Client side it looks and sounds just like you are shooting(Bang, recoil everything) EXCEPT the bullet doesn't shoot (no reduction of ammo and no red ammo counter), this gets really on some of my nerves.

And if it wasn't clear in my post it happens when you bring up your ironsight and shoot in a quick succession on the SVN.

*Edit I take the thing about lag back. Just tested it on a local server, sound and recoil but no smoke. Oh and it can also occur when you go out of ironsight.

This post has been edited by Sejd: Jun 22 2011, 04:20 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gRanTeLbArT
post Jun 22 2011, 04:41 PM
Post #10


aaaaaa | TRR scream team
Group Icon

Group: Retired Team Members
Posts: 5,281
Joined: 9-October 04
Member No.: 3,115



Maybe something is still inconsistent in the code. We should check out of it's possible to stop this from occuring.


--------------------
The Elders have foreseen victory this day!
Member of the TRR scream team.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ad-Man
post Jun 22 2011, 05:07 PM
Post #11


Part of the Big Five conspiracy
Group Icon

Group: Admin
Posts: 828
Joined: 23-October 04
Member No.: 3,147



Should be fixed as of revision 2656. It would be appreciated if you could test and report back.

Note: You can no longer mash Q to induce an ironsight toggling seizure. There is a cooldown period for being able to toggle your sights off and on.


--------------------
Do you cant read me ? Not read ..
Not like whot i write ? not read too ...
Where is the problem ?


QUOTE (Copywright (wallhacker/bad modeler))
BGu had a chance of coming back but Roob failed sad really
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sejd
post Jun 22 2011, 05:18 PM
Post #12


Corporal
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 13-September 10
Member No.: 14,258



Unfortunately it's still happening. took a demo, upload should be finished soon.

[Demo removed due to being recorded on an invalid map]


Took another demo of another(Unrelated) bug, I think I'll call it LookingSidewaysBug!

[Demo removed due to being recorded on an invalid map]


This post has been edited by Sejd: Jun 22 2011, 06:33 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forlorn_Hope
post Jun 22 2011, 09:40 PM
Post #13


Cat Herder in Chief
Group Icon

Group: BG Dev. Team
Posts: 1,712
Joined: 29-October 03
From: The land of plain speaking
Member No.: 2,023



Update your SVN and try it now, Tjoppen committed some changes.


--------------------
"There will be no more naked sunbathing." An actual rule for the base I was on, in the middle of Afghanistan.

"Forlorn basically said everything right." Codename:V
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sejd
post Jun 22 2011, 10:26 PM
Post #14


Corporal
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 13-September 10
Member No.: 14,258



The actual issue of visually shooting seems fixed, there is however an small issue with the fix. If you try to quick scope, after the shooting animation is done you automatically go into ironsight. If you reload before the shooting animation is done you automatically go into ironsight when the reloading is done. Small issues but still.

And yes we are never Happy =).

This post has been edited by Sejd: Jun 22 2011, 10:55 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
irish_thomas
post Jun 23 2011, 01:48 PM
Post #15


why?
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 214
Joined: 3-September 10
From: Ireland
Member No.: 14,246



QUOTE (Ad-Man @ Jun 22 2011, 06:07 PM) *
Should be fixed as of revision 2656. It would be appreciated if you could test and report back.

Note: You can no longer mash Q to induce an ironsight toggling seizure. There is a cooldown period for being able to toggle your sights off and on.

ye tested the ironsights take long enough to come up and now i cant quickscope,so the shooting works grand now though you should be able to leave ironsights quicker than enter.
now i cant aim with the american brown bess lol, time to start using the charleville


--------------------
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i like 69th
{22nd}Gen.Killeruk: i just dont like port,irish and metal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tjoppen
post Jul 9 2011, 10:44 AM
Post #16


Major
Group Icon

Group: Team Leader
Posts: 994
Joined: 11-May 03
Member No.: 1,207



QUOTE (Sejd @ Jun 22 2011, 11:26 PM) *
The actual issue of visually shooting seems fixed, there is however an small issue with the fix. If you try to quick scope, after the shooting animation is done you automatically go into ironsight. If you reload before the shooting animation is done you automatically go into ironsight when the reloading is done. Small issues but still.

And yes we are never Happy =).

Fixed a while back, in revision 2664 (revision 593 in code).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2019 - 07:10 AM